Long Portrait // Cinemagraph

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 17.18.38
Watch my long portrait on Vimeo: http://vimeo.com/76267643

When I was asked to create a one minute portrait of myself for this week’s task, I instantly dreaded the thought of having to sit in front of a camera, as I’m used to always being behind the lens opposed to being the subject.  I believe my initial reaction to this task already says a lot about the kind of person I am, as I find confrontations such as this a little awkward to face.  I chose to represent my reluctancy towards being in front of the lens through keeping a barrier between me and the camera, which was a pane of frosted glass.  The glass represents distance, fear of scrutiny and how my reluctancy distorts an image of myself.  This project made me realise how intrusive and confrontational the camera can be and helped me to see what it might be like for people I am photographing.

Leave a Reply

